No Time To Waste

This appeared on a website called The Daily Kos. My mother reads it every day and sent the link to me. I thought it was so important I wanted to spread the word. To read the whole post click on the link at the bottom.

“Hansen on Warming: We have ONE year.. ONE election (Updated)”

Mon Jun 23, 2008 at 07:25:51 PM PDT

In 2006, the great climate scientist James Hansen famously said

I think we have a very brief window of opportunity to deal with climate change … no longer than a decade, at the most.

Since then, things have gotten much, much worse.  The Arctic ice is melting faster than expected.  CO2 emissions are accelerating.  Global warming is accelerating.

Hansen no longer stands by his estimate that we have one decade to turn things around. He now thinks that was too optimistic.

Today, James Hansen told congress that  we have one year.

Daily Kos: State of the Nation

1 Comment

  1. Andrea said,

    June 25, 2008 at 10:52 am

    i wish there were people in our government that would actually come up with ideas the would help people make changes… like a better, more efficient type of public transportation…. like solar powered train systems or something. I live at my mom’s and we live kind of out on the edge of the city and there are no buses, or anything, we are forced to drive our cars because of no other choice. Even if there were buses, the bus system here is so inadequate that it literally takes hours to get somewhere you could get to in 20 min’s in your own car. There are still right wing conservatives here that actually believe that there is no such thing as global warming, and some of them even say things like that it is the end of the world coming, and that the increase in natural disasters are God punishing us for being sinners (but not them mind you). Urghh! it’s so frustrating, how are we ever going to make the changes we need when faced with the vast amount of ignorance. It seems like we are not going to be able to change until the earth forces us to or something. I wish there were something I could do, but I feel like my hands are tied, I have to get to work, even though I try to go to the farmers market & the health food store to purchase my goods, I still have to get there and they are far away, and only on certain days (that I am not in that area)- so I have to make a special trip to get there. Plus the fact that I feel like I barely have time to just get the basics done. I am trying to figure out a way to get back to a house more centrally located, and I want to have one that is more “green” – solar panels and things, but the financial constraints make it that much more difficult. I think this is the problem most of the people feel like they face (the ones that care). Also, I just heard on NPR that China has now passed the US and is the biggest producer of CO2 in the world. Nobody can seem to stop China from doing anything, and we can’t seem to stop buying crap made in China, because almost everything is made there now (with the exception of a few health food store things, far and few between locally made stuff, and tooth brushes). Anyway, even though I try not to buy much made in China stuff, it’s sometimes inevitable, and again the financial constraint sometimes forces me to feel like I have no other choice but to buy the made in China Crap because I can’t afford the handmade, or made in America item. When they were giving Barack Obama a hard time about not wearing an american flag pin on his lapel while he was campaigning, I thought… “he should tell them he couldn’t find one that was made in America”.


Leave a Reply

