March Riot Update

I have had so much fun being a part of The Riot for Austerity/ 90% reduction project. The project started last June 1st and our family joined in July. There are a growing number of people all over the world, still joining this movement to help halt climate change. What are you willing to do to help save the world as we know it?

I finally have all my numbers for the month of March. As I stated last month, as part of The Riot For Austerity we usually figure up how we compare to the rest of the country in terms of consumption of resources. We are a family of four, living in the USA,  so our numbers are compared to the average American or average American household. There are seven categories.

Gasoline: We purchased 16.71 gallons in March. The average American uses 500 gallons of gas per year. So our a typical family of four would use 2000. Our use is 10.02% of average.    Our 10 month cumulative total is 209.91 gallons or 12.6 % of average. And as reported last month, this does not include the airline trips taken in November.

Electric: We used 225 Kwh from  March 15 to April 11. The average household uses 900 kwh/month so our usage is 25% of average.

Therms: We used 8 therms of natural gas from  March 15 to April 11. The average household uses 83.3 per month or 1000 therms over the season, since much of it is used for heating. We are using no gas heat, but do heat water and cook with gas. Our usage is 10% of average.

Garbage: We created 6.25 pounds of trash and 17 pounds of recyclables in March. Recyclables count 80% of trash so we are at 3.7% of average. The average person creates 4.5 pounds of garbage per day. A typical family of four would then produce 540 pounds of garbage per month. We have the smallest garbage can the city provides and we could go a whole month before our can was full. I put our trash out every two weeks.

Water: We used 2 kilogallon from March 15 to April 11. It went back up to 2 from 1. We have been at 2 Kg since last Oct. The average person uses 100 gallons of water per day. That is 400 gallons per day for a family of four and 12 Kg a month. Our 2 Kg is 16% of average.

Consumer Goods. We spent atleast $146.45 in March which would be 17.6% of average. We purchased a battery for our car and patterns for some planned wardrobe refashioning.  Everything was new this time so added to the expense. The average American household spends $10,000 a year or $833 a month.

Food: This category is always hard for me. I just guess what I think we eat and spend money on and then I double check what my husband thinks. I think it is the same as last month with local at 25%, bulk category at 45% and I think the wet, conventional, processed food is still at 30%. April is getting more local and May should be even better.

In summary our gas use increased slightly, Electric went up 2.5 percentage points, Nat gas use went down by 3 therms,steadily dropping since Dec.  Garbage has continued dropping and went from 4% to 3.7%. Water use increased by 50%, but I think it is more the way the meter is read than a true 50% increase in use. Consumer goods is higher because we needed a new battery for our car. And the food category is pretty much the same with a move in the right direction….towards local!    

Why don’t you take some time to look at your utility and gasoline bills, and see where you fall on the percentage chart. To make things even easier, there is a calculator on the Riot site that will figure things up for you. You don’t have to join the Riot, just become aware of how much of our planets finite resources you are using.                

4 Comments

  1. Stephanie said,

    April 21, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Wanted to let you know that I enjoy your blog – and wish you’d post more often! I was thinking about your blog last night – thinking that you could rename it so you could cover more enviro stuff when you don’t have clothes specific posts. However, even with the name “wastewear daily” you could post about all sorts of waste. (ok, spent my 2 cents 🙂

    I’m curious to know how you reduced your usage, especially how got your water usage so low. Navy showers? Gray water? You’re in a much more humid climate than me (i’m in abq), but still! By the way, I found the riot site thru you and finally went over my gas and electric bills yesterday – what an eye opener! Thanks.

  2. wasteweardaily said,

    April 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Stephanie,
    Thank you SO much for your comment. When people don’t comment I sort of feel like no one really cares about my blog and I’m not so inclined to write. So I will try to post more often. The other reason I have not posted much lately is the spring garden and my mother in law coming to visit in a couple days. I have been SO busy.
    I am so glad I inspired you to look at your bills. I will work on doing a post on saving/not wasting water. I think the two biggest water savers are short showers and front loading washer.
    Thanks for your 2 cents.
    Cindy

  3. April 22, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Congrats on your Riot numbers!

  4. MommaLynne said,

    May 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hi there, Dumpster Diva!!

    Thought you might be interested in the following website.

    http://www.liquidgoldbook.com/news.html


Leave a Reply

