Crunchy Chicken: Buy Nothing Challenge

Crunchy Chicken: Buy Nothing Challenge

Buy Nothing Challenge - April 2008

 

 

 

One of my favorite blogs is Crunchy Chicken. She has some really interesting challenges. We finished up the Freeze your buns challenge and now she is doing a buy nothing challenge. Since starting my challenge of not buying any clothing for a year, a month of buying nothing seems doable. We are allowed to buy food and other necessities like toilet paper, toothpaste and shampoo (if people still think they are necessary). Garden items and preplanned purchases are exempt. The month long challenge started on April 1st, but I was too busy shopping to post about it. Ha Ha.

I’ve actually been very busy getting my garden put in and I will post about that at a later time. So I really have not had time to buy much. I was even successful at deferring a purchase to my dear old mom. (HI mom) My daughter decided to sew a top and shorts for a 4-H project and she needed fabric. So my mom bought it. (Thanks Mom).

I do have purchases I want to make, namely a pressure canner and more jars. Really not to much else I want.

Anyone else up for not buying anything for the month of April? I’d even exempt the whole first week if you start today. You can sign up with Crunchy at her website or with me, or just do it on your own. Let me know if you want to participate.

2 Comments

  1. Andrea said,

    April 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Hey, I don’t mean to be the sour puss, but isn’t it kind of cheating if you get your mom to buy something for you? – Sorry if I have offended anythone… didn’t you still have some of that retro fabric we found in that dumpster in Honesdale? Remember that? I kept some of it all these years and used it to patch up a shirt that I loved, then I ruined the shirt by pressing a heat press design on it that got messed up & donated the shirt to the dog tug of war fund. Ha ha- that shirt made the rounds & ended up in the trash… but pre-shredded into small pieces- courtesy of these 2 wild dogs I used to have.

  2. wasteweardaily said,

    April 11, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    well yes and no. First of all, I don’t take offense at all. I consider that a discussion question to think about and answer. Secondly, my daughter is not signed up for the challenge and her Grandmother buys her all sorts of things anyway. I did suggest to my little one that she look through our pile of fabric and refashion something, but she is not experienced and could not see past buying fabric.
    I can see that I could both rationalize the purchase and condemn the purchase. I guess to be safe I will “confess” it on crunchys website. Sunday is confession.


Leave a Reply

