What I wore

This is a follow up to my post What to wear. My husband was given a five year pin for working for the same company, for you guessed it, 5 years. There was a dinner party planned for all the people getting pins for various numbers of years. You were supposed to dress up for this occasion and the invitation even said semi-formal or business attire. Due to my challenge, I needed to find something to wear from the garbage. Well I think I did pretty well in my selection. This is what I chose to wear.

img_0465.jpg  Click to enlarge

It was very warm outside last Thursday, so I did not want to wear the velvet jacket, but I still wanted some sort of cover-up. While looking for something else, I found this lace jacket that I knew I had but could not find. So I wore it to the event and brought the other jacket for warmth once inside. I never needed the warmer one.

After we arrived and had our picture taken and got drinks, the director from my husbands company called us over. She told my husband that she had a job for him. She thought he should be in charge of organising a bike to work day on Earth Day. I chimed in with “What about walking, busing or carpooling?”. Then she said I should be the co-chair on the project.

After we were seated at a table with four other people and had started eating our dinner, my husband brought up the Earth Day car-less idea. The others at the table were interested in how you could set up a carpooling project so people could find other people who lived near them. If we can figure out a system, we can use it at our church as well. We also discussed cloth grocery bags and how to remember to take them with you.

This was the first event with my husbands company that I actually enjoyed. We had to leave early so I was unable to ask about leftover food, but the Salvation Army was right next door so hopefully they have something worked out with them.

5 Comments

  1. Louise said,

    April 1, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Okay, HOW do you remember to take the cloth grocery bags with you??? I bought the bags a month ago and I’ve forgotten them IN the truck after remembering to take them TO the truck on my way outside. I will sometimes run back to the truck and get them but I’d like to be able to remember them.

  2. wasteweardaily said,

    April 2, 2008 at 8:41 am

    It has to become a habit. I have been taking cloth bags so long that when I get ready to go to the store I make sure I have my list, my bags and my purse. Some people keep their bags in the car, which then means you have to remember to put them back in the car after you use them. I think my mom puts her bags by the front door after she uses them. Then she can pick them up anytime she goes to the car or just when going shopping. It takes three weeks to build a habit, so work hard to remind yourself to take them, and it will eventually be second nature. I also carry a light weight net bag in my purse for any purchases from other stores.

  3. Melissa said,

    April 9, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I leave them by the front door until I am ready to go out, and I never put them in the trunk (I made myself go back out and get them every single time I forgot, so I made sure to stop forgetting). Sometimes, I put my purse with the car keys in it inside my shopping bags and leave the whole thing by the door. Hard to leave without it then.

  4. wasteweardaily said,

    April 9, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Melissa,
    Thanks you for those suggestions. I think they will be helpful to others.
    Cindy

  5. Susan said,

    April 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Hi, Cindy,

    The outfit looks great.

    It is me, Susan, from Need-a-Bag?. I hear that if you’re at the store and you’ve forgotten, you can sometimes convince the clerk to let you out with the carry-along, in-store shopping basket thingie full of your loot. Then you just unpack your items into the car and take the basket back into the store and drive off with the loose items rolling about merrily all over the car. (I’ve never done it, actually, but Michele reports success with this method at Publix.) I frequently have lots of totes in the car from the Need-a-Bag? operation and I can usually remember to bring one of them into the store, but not always. But I use evil plastic bags for trash, and I actually do need a few of them, so I sometimes will just fling up my hands and take the plastic bag and long for the happy day when Need-a-Bag? takes over the world. (Ask Michele about easy, fun Need-a-Bag? franchise opportunities!theaccidentalenvironmentalist.blogspot.com. Or just start one up: what the hey!). Finally, rest assured that the 441 Farmer’s Market is a Safe Place for the forgetful environmentalist. There’ll be a tote for you and your tomatos if ever you happen to forget: re-usable, recycled, clean, and free!


Leave a Reply

