What to Wear


I am hardly ever in a quandary about what to wear. However, my husband will be awarded a five year pin from the company that he works for and we have both been invited to the awards ceremony and dinner. For some reason it is a semi-formal event. Now what are the chances that I will find an appropriate semi-formal outfit? Well excellent if I could go shopping for one. But due to my challenge, I am constrained to do my shopping from a dumpster.

Well, you might not think that I could pull this off. But then you could be wrong. I actually have found quite a few semi and even formal dresses. My only hardships have been finding the right size.

img_0450.jpgimg_0451.jpgimg_0456.jpgimg_0457.jpg

img_0342.jpgimg_0460.jpgimg_0449.jpg                                                img_0461.jpgimg_0462.jpg

The above outfits are about the right size except the last one which is a beautiful  white suit in a 22w. I believe I have ruled them all out except for maybe the black sweater and pink skirt. The coral dress actually looks better on me than on the hanger and oddly the silver one looks much better on the hanger. The navy blue dress with the tie in the middle just got laughed at and the brown suit is a tad too small.

I have found a very nice dress that is just one size too large. It is a long dress with a high waist. The material is a dark floral sheer and there is a velvet ribbon along the bodice. It is sleeveless and very modest in front, but it does have a plunging V in the back that means a bra cannot be worn. I’m going to assume that I will be freezing, since I always am at these kinds of events. I will be wearing a velvet jacket, I think, over the dress. This may be the one I ultimately chose.

img_0441.jpg     img_0443.jpg     img_0445.jpg         

img_0446.jpg    img_0448.jpg

As I have said before, I am not one for high fashion. I am a simple girl who prefers jeans and a t-shirt. Sometimes I enjoy dressing up a bit, but usually not to this extent. I sure hope the food is good. Maybe I will get up the nerve to ask what they are doing with the leftover food.

What do you think of my choice of outfit? I’ll try to have a picture taken of me wearing this ensemble so you can see just how beautiful wearing garbage can be.

3 Comments

  1. Andrea said,

    March 25, 2008 at 11:30 am

    This dress is pretty. I like the velvet top over it.

  2. March 25, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Thank you Andrea.

  3. Patty J said,

    April 29, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    What an adventure you are having! Wow! Too, too adorable and so much fun!


Leave a Reply

