Recent Aquisitions

I have been so busy with spring planting, oh and life, that I have not posted for a while. I did another few loads of laundry today and was folding some of the fantastic finds and I thought “I need to photograph some of these and post them”. So I did. If you click on the photos they will enlarge.

My latest trip to myfavoritedumpster yielded an enormous bounty. I found a 100% cotton creme colored king size fitted sheet. No stains and only one small hole that maybe you could get a pencil through.

img_0325.jpg 

I found several dresses  near my size.

img_0321.jpg     img_0322.jpg

Maybe 6-8 bras in various sizes, a couple that might fit. One is even a wonder bra. I haven’t tried it on yet. No picture of those.

I found a very colorful skirt with black trim and a black shirt to go with it. I wore them to church last Sunday. My minister was awestruck, (she knows about my pledge now). That is, my pledge to wear only clothes I find in the trash.

img_0339.jpg

I found a bag with material in it and another bag full of ribbon. I found quite a few large pieces of muslin type material, but only took the piece that did not have mildew on it.

  img_0427.jpg                                         img_0328.jpg

One very exciting thing was a box of brand new canning jar lids and rings. It was like the universe new of my plans to can this summer.

img_0327.jpg

Every single time I go to this dumpster I am amazed at the things I find. I am in a quandary about wishing the clothes were not thrown in the dumpster. If they were not, then there are a lot of people who would not get free clothing. Sure, I am one of those people, but honestly I can afford to buy what I need. There are people who can’t. I just wish the clothes could go to the people who really need them. I also wish the people who really need them did not have to dig them out of a dumpster. There has to be some other way for this to work. I’m just not sure yet what that is.

4 Comments

  1. Mommalynne said,

    March 21, 2008 at 8:19 am

    If your town is planning a new homeless shelter, maybe you should work with the people at the city and see if there is a way to make these freebie clothes available there. You would have to work out transport and sorting. You certainly wouldn’t want the entire contents of the dumpsters. But maybe the homeless could be enlisted in the sorting. And maybe the shelter could have a room where the clothing was available.

  2. Andrea said,

    March 24, 2008 at 10:56 am

    wow… those dresses are really pretty, and the skirt and top. If I lived there I would totally come dumpster diving with you. You know, some cities have these organizations that provide nice looking clothes for people trying to make fresh starts, and they will take homeless people who are interested and give them a “professional” looking wardrobes so that they can go apply for jobs, etc. I can’t remember the name of the one I saw the story on (of course)- but those organizations do exsist. Too bad the stores can’t commit to having a separate container where they put clothes that just need a little alteration/fixing… so that homeless facilities can come pick them up, etc. That would be much more dignified that asking them to come sort through their regular dumpsters, or what have you. If I win the lottery and don’t have to work, I am going to try to start some kind of thing like that. Hmmm, something to think about anyway.

  3. Kelli said,

    March 25, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Hi,
    I don’t know if this would complicate things too much, but we do meet women regularly at the Sunday Cafes at the Catholic Worker House who might like some of the cast-offs, especially for cooler weather. Let me know if you would like to consider sending some our way. Thanks! And I really love your blog. What an inspiration! Kelli

  4. wasteweardaily said,

    March 25, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Thank you Kelli,
    I’ll email you and see what we can work out.
    Cindy


Leave a Reply

