The Challenge

When I realized how much clothing came out of my favorite dumpster, I realized I could outfit myself without ever having to buy clothes again! Well, I had some clothes already, and brand new clothes keep finding their way to my closet one way or another. Then there is always the pull to *just see* what the thrift store has…..and more stuff comes home. I bet most people have way more clothes than they need. A few people cycle through clothing regularly, giving away an item as they buy a new one, but always keeping a small wardrobe that fits easily in their closet. This is not me though. I don’t want to be part of the problem. The problem being too much stuff.  Too much stuff for sale, too much stuff in our houses, and too much stuff in the landfill.

So I have created a challenge for myself…………….I will not purchase –any- clothing for myself for the next year! I will not wear any clothing that has been given to me as a gift. I will pack away ALL my clothing AND……I will only wear clothing that I find in a dumpster or other landfill bound receptacle. It does not count to have a good friend of mine take pity on me and leave a box of cool clothes by my door so I can “find” them. I don’t expect to need pity anyway. I will not look to freecycle for clothing for myself. It is a great thing if you are doing “the compact”, and also for a host of other reasons, but will not fit the stringent requirements for my…
 YEAR OF WEARING GARBAGE

Oh, doesn’t that just sound pleasant! Well technically that is what I will be wearing. I was on hiatus from dumpster diving, per my husband’s wishes, for over a year while we moved across town and set up our new household. Recently I returned to my old dive and was again struck by how much is still thrown away. My plan,which has been hatching for a couple weeks, is to slowly transition to a 100% cast-off, reject, garbage wardrobe by Feb 1st. Wow, not sure if I can be 100% by then, but that is my goal.

Today, I started packing away all my normally acquired clothing. Boy is there a lot of it. I did take the opportunity to scale down, but was not very successful. As I packed and sorted items I realized  that my clothes are a huge mix of dumpster finds, thrift store purchases, gifts and a few newly purchased items. The problem being that I cannot remember what came from the dumpster and what did not. So, what I have come up with is to keep the things I think fit my criteria until they can be replaced by items that I know can.

Of course there have to be exceptions. Yes, there do! My exceptions are underwear, bras, socks and shoes. I really don’t have objections to wearing used bras, socks and shoes, but I will not be able to find enough of them-from experience. Most of my shoes are used, but I will be buying brand new-yes, you heard me-brand new walking shoes when my current ones wear out. Let’s just leave it at foot pain.

The title of my blog-Waste Wear Daily, is a spoof on the fashion digest Woman’s Wear Daily. Since I will be wearing waste(uh that’s garbage- not other gross stuff) daily, that is how the name came about. (Thanks again Christine:). Expect photos of my outfits soon. Now don’t expect any high fashion, I’m just a plain girl! But I bet you’ll be surprised anyway.

 

3 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    January 25, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Go Cindy!

    I will be reading and cheering you on! Go fellow 90% reduction-er!

    Sandy

  2. sheri said,

    January 29, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    this sounds very interesting. keep us posted with photos!

  3. Dottie said,

    February 8, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I enjoyed the blog. I think what you are doing is quite fascinating. I look forward to you being less shy about taking pictures. I understand your shyness, however. I also like the idea you had about interviewing the other people who are there. This would make a good article for a local paper.

    Cheers! Dottie


Leave a Reply

