Introduction

Welcome to a blog about waste, yes, stuff we throw out, stuff we don’t want, even if it is usable. I give full credit to my friend Christine for coming up with the title/blog name. Upcoming posts will explain why it is such a great name. I dedicate this blog to my daughter and my sister in law(SIL) who together discovered the first dumpster I ever wanted to dive into and which has become a source of abundance. Once I figure out how to use this site, I’m actually fairly computer illiterate, I will posts pictures and add links. Untill then, here is my story.

The end of December 2005, my SIL and my daughter were walking around behind a small strip of stores containing a faith based  thrift store. They discovered two large green dumpsters full of clothing. After finishing my errand, I followed them behind the stores to see for myself. One dumpster contained a woman sorting through the thrift store rejects. I asked her if she had found anything good and she replied, “I always do.” I can’t remember how many garments I brought home that day, but in the months and years to follow, I have brought trunkloads home. I have shared them with my family and  friends, sold some items to consignment stores and at garage sales and have even redonated other items to thrift stores that I know give clothes to the needy.

Some folks are disgusted by dumpster diving and picking through trash by the curb. Honestly it does not disgust me, but occasionally I am embarrassed. I don’t want to be embarrassed and I don’t think I *should* be, but then again, I don’t think most of the stuff I find and bring home should have been trash in the first place.

I want people to start becoming aware of -all- the waste there is. Aware of how many useable items are headed to the landfill. Some areas, mostly urban I think, have textile recycling programs. Where I live there is mounting evidence this is not happening.

I doubt my little blog can stop the rampant disposal of resources, but it would be great if it did! 

8 Comments

  1. dc said,

    January 23, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Congratulations on your posting of your blog….you should not be disgusted nor embarrassed… we should all be for what we allow to happen… the production of unnecessary stuff (your word), the purchase of the same and the willingness to discard the same at whim… we all need to take the little steps to make a difference whether it be talking to a neighbor, growing your own food or “diving” as you call it…. and we need to communicate options to people… there are different ways to do things…better ways to do things…I look forward to following your blog and the discussion it generates….

  2. Mommalynne said,

    January 23, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Great site! Don’t worry about being computer illiterate. Your message is more important. And if you were able to get your blog up and rolling, you must be fairly literate.

  3. Andrea said,

    January 25, 2008 at 11:55 am

    I see why you have been so busy… you are out dumpstering for clothes- ha ha! Good luck on your 0 clothing impact experiment. I wore a lot of that stuff you sent me. I like your idea… I makes me curious about all those dumpsters behind places like Ross Dress For Less. I wish I could overcome feeling worried that people will see me, or that I would get in trouble some how. Also, it’s kind of hard to dumpster dive when you work full-time… but I kind of thought it would be could to do that and open a second hand store or something… but then again I guess that would miss your point. Good Luck anyway!

  4. Vivian Creekmore said,

    January 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    This is such a fantastical idea! I simply love it. I had never heard of dumpster diving until “The Riot” and have never heard of anyone doing it here in WI. I intentionally set out stuff that my daughter cannot bring home with her from college beside the dumpsters. V

  5. Grandma Misi said,

    January 27, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    You Go Girl!!!! Dumpster Diving is an ART, a joy, and sometimes yukky… but always an adventure. I love your challenge and I love that you’re going to blog about your adventures. It’s truly disgusting how much we Americans throw away every day, be it clothing, food, furniture/appliances and good compostables. I agree with the previous poster that this is much more disgusting than diving into a dumpster! Just be careful and use lots of common sense and safety awareness when doing so okay?
    Hugs, Grandma Misi

  6. Waste Wear Daily said,

    January 28, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Thank you all for the comments and compliments. I am being safe and using common sense. Soon I’ll do a post about the art of dumpster diving.
    Cindy in FL

  7. Shasha Cedar said,

    January 31, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Yeah! I am so happy to see this blog. I think that you will open all of our eyes to the extent of our wastefulness. Thank you!

    Miranda

  8. Lauriloo said,

    March 3, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Lars Eighner dumpster dove for a living for several years and wrote a book about his adventures. It’s worth checking out.


Leave a Reply

